Maryland Law Update

City of Baltimore Lactation Accommodation

On January 14, 2019, City of Baltimore Mayor Catherine Pugh signed an ordinance (Ord. No. 18-0276) requiring employers with two or more full-time equivalent employees working in the city to both:

·         Provide lactation accommodations, including lactation breaks and locations; and

·         Develop, distribute, and implement policies and procedures for lactation accommodations.

The ordinance also establishes the minimum standards for lactation accommodations, provides exceptions and waivers or variances under certain conditions, implements recordkeeping requirements, prohibits retaliation, and imposes penalties for violations.

The ordinance is effective April 15, 2019.

Read Ord. No. 18-0276

Minimum Wage Increase

On March 28, 2019, the Maryland General Assembly overrode Governor Larry Hogan’s veto of legislation that would have increased the minimum wage (S.B. 280), and enacted an increase as follows:

·         For employers with 14 or fewer employees (small employers):

·         $10.10 per hour effective July 1, 2018 to December 31, 2019.

·         $11 per hour effective January 1, 2020.

·         $11.60 per hour effective January 1, 2021.

·         $12.20 per hour effective January 1, 2022.

·         $12.80 per hour effective January 1, 2023.

·         $13.40 per hour effective January 1, 2024.

·         $14 per hour effective January 1, 2025.

·         $14.60 per hour effective January 1, 2026.

·         $15 per hour effective July 1, 2026.

·         For employers with 15 or more employees:

·         $9.25 per hour effective July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019.

·         $10.10 per hour effective July 1, 2019.

·         $11 per hour effective January 1, 2020.

·         $11.75 per hour effective January 1, 2021.

·         $12.50 per hour effective January 1, 2022.

·         $13.25 per hour effective January 1, 2023.

·         $14 per hour effective January 1, 2024.

·         $15 per hour effective January 1, 2025.

Additionally, under the law:

·         An employer may pay an employee 85 percent of the state minimum wage if the employee is under age 18 (formerly under age 20); and

·         Exemptions to the minimum wage provisions were removed.

The law is effective June 1, 2019.

Read MD S.B. 280

MarylandAmanda S